Captivate (Book one of the Submerged Sun Series) by Vanessa Garden

Oh wow! I really loved this book! So original and consuming! It just grabbed me from the beginning and I couldn’t put it down. I finished it in one sitting. 

At first, I thought it was going to be a mermaid/merman story but the whole, city-under-the-sea thing was really cool, and I loved the possible-submerged-space-ship angle. The descriptions of the city were perfect, not overdone but just enough to let your imagination take over, and the crystals were a very unique touch.

I felt I could really connect with the characters and understand why they were feeling the way they were. Miranda seemed to feel and do, what I would expect someone to do in her place. I loved Robbie from the beginning, although he was the one to steal Miranda away from her family. He seemed to be a good person who felt split by loyalty and what was right. I really didn’t like Marko, at all, and, when he began to redeem himself somewhat, I resisted liking him. He did grow on me, eventually, although I hated his punishment of Robbie. His decision was explained very well, and he showed obvious remorse for what he had to do, but I was still mad at him. I was also a bit conflicted about the outcome of the ‘love triangle’ (I won’t elaborate so as not to spoil the outcome for others). I wasn’t quite sure who I wanted Miranda to end up with and I swayed back and forth on my feelings for both guys. To me, this is a sign of a good book. When the reader is so drawn into the story that their feelings are involved, I think the author has definitely done their job.
Image
Even though the ending was a bit of a cliff-hanger, I was satisfied with it and am really looking forward to reading the next book.

Leave a Reply

