Charli’s review of Antichrist 16: The Becoming

Available at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Antichrist-16-Becoming-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B0083AB0EO/ref=cm_cr-mr-title

It’s taken me a while to figure out what to write in the review for this story. Not because it was bad, on the contrary, because it was so good! I wanted to be able to do it justice. It’s a very original plot, at least one I’ve never run across before, and I really enjoyed it from the first page.

The Antichrist, Nathan, is one of those characters that you feel you actually know. He’s a typical teen that has the uncanny ability to charm his way out of trouble, most of the time. He enjoys hanging with his close friends, he routinely gets picked on by bullies, he gets along pretty well with the teachers at his school, and he has a pretty good relationship with his family. The only thing in his life that causes him pause, besides the bullies, is that he’s adopted and occasionally mentions wondering about his real parents. He takes it all in stride, though, and doesn’t feel as though his life is lacking in any way. For the most part, he appears to be well-adjusted with a great, snarky sense of humor.

Feeling this way about Nathan, I had a problem knowing he was the Antichrist in the story. I wondered how the heck he could be something evil when he seemed to be so sweet. As the story progresses, the author explains their version of the Antichrist as not being evil so much, as being the Uniter of the survivors after the Apocalypse. This put a totally unique spin on the concept of the Antichrist for me. Now, I’m not saying there’s not some badness going on there but I don’t know that evil is the word I’d use to describe it.

I’m not one to include spoilers in my reviews, so I’ll just say that the journey from the explanation of Nathan being the Antichrist, and the end of the book, is one hell of a ride. There were so many twists and turns I stopped trying to anticipate where the story was going, and just enjoyed it. It was definitely worth the ride! I read the last page with some disappointment not knowing when the next installment was due to be released. I sure hope it’s soon!

Goodreads | Charli Denae Mercer’s review of Antichrist 16: The Becoming.

Leave a Reply

