I did not see that coming… at all!

I’m feeling very mixed about this story. It’s really long and kind of flops back and forth quite a bit. Just when you think it’s going to wrap up, some other epic thing happens and it keeps going. Now, this is not really a bad thing, it’s just that there were a few places where I questioned what was happening and was almost getting mad at the characters and thinking, ‘Enough already!’ When I got to the end, which knocked me for a loop as I did not see it coming, at all, the aforementioned complaints became completely clear. I discovered the reason that the plot seemed to go back and forth so much. I also was right to question what was going on. I just didn’t know it at the time.

That being said, I seriously could not put this book down. It kept me intrigued and involved throughout. The main heroine, Abby, brings the reader over to her side pretty quickly. After a terrible tragedy that crushes her spirit, her family is convinced that she’s cracked mentally. She labors to convince them that she’s not crazy through the entire story and, when she finally has evidence that she’s telling the truth, the entire thing blows up in her, and our, face. I’m not going to give the ending away but, let me just say that, if you see it coming, you’re a lot smarter than I am, because it caught me entirely unaware! I’m usually pretty good at figuring out what’s going to happen in movies and books, too, but not this time. As I read the last word, I just kind of sat there for a minute to let it digest before turning my Kindle off. It was like the sun coming out from behind the clouds. Everything was suddenly clear! I think I actually said, “Wow” out loud. LOL!!

This is where my feelings are mixed. Though I obviously enjoyed the story, a part of me was a little disappointed at the ending but, another part of me was awed that the author had the guts to end it the way that she did.

If you like paranormal stories that include angels and demons, you’ll love this story. If you like dramatic stories that involve heroines with personal dilemmas to solve, you’ll love this story. If you like stories with a ‘I totally did not see that coming’ ending, you’ll definitely love this story. I received this story in exchange for an honest review, and I honestly can say that I would spend the money on it, to read it again.

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/412638571

Leave a Reply

